Red Lentil Dal w/ Greens, Creamy Cucumber Salad, and Roti

IMG_20170613_200527Big meal – this was a long endeavour, but these can be made separately. I was so hungry by the time I finished that I couldn’t think straight, so I didn’t take any pictures. I  mocked up the pictured miniplate as an afterthought.

Roti obviously go with lots of Middle Eastern and Indian foods. Here’s the recipe I followed, bearing in mind that i used standard whole wheat flour, and the end result was probably a lot less soft than it should be. but I’m not buying a 10lb bag of flour online for this one recipe:

http://www.thetiffinbox.ca/2015/09/roti-chapathi-phulka-how-to-make-soft-rotis.html?m=1

Then a cucumber salad that is a bit more substantial than raita, and has no yogurt:

http://www.thetiffinbox.ca/2011/07/cucumber-kharam-cucumber-salad-in.html?m=1

I softened the garlic in a pan with the pepper because too much raw garlic is bad for the breath, but it also had a lot of raw onion. too. This was cool and terrific fresh and garden-fresh cukes would be even better.

http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-lentil-dal-with-hearty-greens-223147

The dal was a nice simple recipe, a bit light on the spice I thought, until I realized later that I’d omitted turmeric altogether.

http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-lentil-dal-with-hearty-greens-223147

I’d be interested to try it again with, but other Indian spices like garam masala, coriander, cardamom, etc could be used too. This is where I used the greens from the CSA. I just roughly chopped gobs and gobs of them and tossed them in – it was perfect, took no real prep or destemming, and added a lot more flavor than plain kale or whatever.

Leave a Reply

