Hawaiian…couscous… Pilaf w/ Sweet Potato and Greens

IMG_20170615_183203.jpg

http://www.organicauthority.com/hawaiian-quinoa-pilaf-with-sweet-potato-coconut-and-leafy-greens/

I undertook to make this recipe without properly vetting my quinoa supplies. It turns out there was none at all to be had. There was plenty of couscous in there, so I made a snap-substitution. A little less whole grain, but otherwise this turned out just fine.  Other variations:

  • I would probably recommend about 1.5c Couscous, instead of the 2c I cooked.
  • I toasted the couscous dry in the pan before adding water – then just turned it off when the water boiled and it was done. A lot easier than quinoa, really;
  • I used coconut flakes and toasted those;
  • Even though my macadamias were roasted, I also re-toasted them for flavor;
  • Again used the mixed leafy greens from CSA, this time with a rough chop!

The greens will cook way down. Just look at those greens!

IMG_20170615_182024

I would add even more next time.

IMG_20170615_182229

Cook until just wilted. Yum.

Leave a Reply

